Praxis MedicinesUK pet medicine prices, compared

Medicines › Stronghold

Stronghold Plus 30 mg/5 mg Spot-on Solution for Cats >2.5–5 kg

POM-V · Vet prescription

Cheapest per pipette£4.58Pet Drugs Online, 6 pipettes for £27.49
Pharmacies with a price23 listings checked

Cheapest by pack size

3 pipettes: £17.75 at Pet Drugs Online6 pipettes: £27.49 at Pet Drugs Online

Every price we hold

PharmacyPackPricePer doseStockDelivery (as the pharmacy says)Link
Pet Drugs Online Cheapest per dose
Stronghold PLUS Spot On Solution for Medium Cats 30mg/5mg (2.5kg-5kg) 6 Pipettes
6 pipettes £27.49
VAT not stated
£4.58
per pipette
In stock
checked 11 hours ago
— Visit Pet Drugs Online
Pet Drugs Online
Stronghold PLUS Spot On Solution for Medium Cats 30mg/5mg (2.5kg-5kg) 3 Pipettes
3 pipettes £17.75
VAT not stated
£5.92
per pipette
In stock
checked 11 hours ago
— Visit Pet Drugs Online
The Pharm Pet Co
Stronghold Plus Spot On for Cats, 30mg/5mg Medium Cat 2.5-5kg, Pack of 3
3 pipettes £19.34
VAT not stated
£6.45
per pipette
In stock
checked 14 hours ago
free over £49.00 Visit The Pharm Pet Co

Prices include VAT unless marked. Delivery is shown in each pharmacy's own words; check it at checkout. Prices change — the pharmacy's page is always the final word.

Is a written prescription worth it?

Using the cheapest online price per pipette above (£4.58, Pet Drugs Online). Put in your vet's price to compare a year of buying.

The fee starts at the Order's cap, £21.40, which binds after 22 March 2027 at large groups; put in your practice's own fee if you know it. How long a prescription lasts is your vet's decision.

What you need to buy it

Needs a prescription from your vet.

Only a vet who has your animal under their care can prescribe it. You can buy it from your vet, or ask your vet for a written prescription and buy it from any pharmacy or authorised online retailer — the vet may charge a prescription fee for writing it.

The CMA's Order makes it a duty after 22 June 2027 at large groups (15 or more practices) and after 22 September 2027 at every other practice. You can ask today: vets have long been expected to provide a written prescription on request, and may charge a fee for it.

Ask your vet for a prescription

Category: Prescription-only medicine — veterinarian (POM-V).

Same active ingredient

Licensed products containing Sarolaner + Selamectin in the same form. Ask your vet before changing — strength, dosing and licensed species can differ, and the prescription must name what you buy.

Other Stronghold products

Other strengths, sizes and weight bands. Give the one your vet prescribed for your animal's weight.

About this medicine

Active ingredients
Sarolaner, Selamectin
Form
Spot-on solution
For
Cats
Used as
Endectocide
Marketing authorisation holder
Zoetis UK Limited
Authorisation number
42058/5069 · VMD product A009982 · Great Britain
First authorised
9 February 2017

Summary of product characteristics (PDF) · VMD record · This page as data · as Markdown

Next time, just ask your AI

This site is built to be read by Claude, ChatGPT and other assistants. Tell yours:

Use medicines.praxisos.vet to check the UK online prices of Stronghold Plus 30 mg/5 mg Spot-on Solution for Cats >2.5–5 kg: https://medicines.praxisos.vet/m/stronghold-plus-30-mg-5-mg-spot-on-solution-for-cats-2-5-5-kg-a009982 — Tell me the cheapest authorised UK online pharmacy per dose, whether I need a written prescription from my vet, and the most my vet may charge for one. Also list any other products with the same active ingredient, so I can ask my vet whether one would suit my pet.

Or add it as a tool: https://medicines.praxisos.vet/mcp — how to connect it.